About Tanzania


  • Independent on 9th December, 1961 Republic in 1962.
  • Republic of Zanzibar on 12th January, 1964.
  • of on 26th April, 1964.
    Main capital: Dodoma
  • Commercial city: Dar es Salaam
  • Tourist destination: Arusha
  • Currency: Tanzanian Shilling (TZS) a
  • Language is Kiswahili, but English is also widely used.


Tanzania is located in which comprises of Kenya, Uganda, , Burundi and South Sudan (New east Africa created country after the split from Northern Sudan). Tanzania is the largest country in east Africa covering an area of … and hosting the population of 44,929,002 (2012 Tanzania Census Report)

Tanzania is an African country located in East Africa region which comprises of Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda. It also border with Indian Ocean in the east.

Tanzania has its Independence on December 9, 1961. The mainland of Tanzania became a German colony called Tanganyika in 1884 whilst the Sultanate of Zanzibar became a British Protectorate in 1890. Tanganyika then became a British mandated territory in 1918 and obtained her independence in 1961. In 1963 Zanzibar obtained independence, and a year later (1964) formed a union with Tanganyika under the new name of Tanzania United Republic Of. Tanzania along with the neighbor region Zanzibar is known as United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar. These two regions were united in the year 1964 and after its unification, it is known as United Republic of Tanzania.

The government type of Tanzania is a unitary presidential democratic republic featured with multi-party system since 1990. The President of Tanzania is head of state as well as head of government. Legislative power is vested in both the government, judiciary and the parliament but the Executive power is exercised by the government.
The economy of the country is largely based upon agriculture and the industry is largely limited to processing agricultural products and light consumer goods. But the country Tanzania has huge amounts of natural resources that include Tanzanite (the only world producer of the precious stone), gold, diamonds, uranium, nickel, iron, coal, chrome, tin, platinum, coltan, niobium etc. After South Africa and Ghana, Tanzania is the third-largest gold producer in Africa. Country has also substantial amount of natural gas.